Preview
5

Awesome Masculinity, Computers, & You

Be prepared to make manly, grunting noises.
5

Back in 2020 (and 2019... and I think 2018 as well) I proposed a session titled "Awesome Masculinity, Computers, & You" to multiple Linux and Open Source conferences.

"We've all heard the term "Toxic Masculinity"... but what about "Awesome Masculinity"? Let's take a whirlwind tour through some of the most awesomely nerdy men, with their awesome manliness, that have helped make the computing world (Free Software and Linux, in particular) extra awesome. And manly. Come prepared to make manly noises (grunts and, well, more grunts)."

Every conference told me they had to reject my proposal out of fear of backlash. Every single one was afraid to let me do this show.

Why were they afraid? Who knows! It’s a super positive show that talks positively about everyone.

So I went ahead and recorded the show on my own. And here it is.

This video is one (of the oh-so-many) extra goodies for subscribers to The Lunduke Journal. And is available both here on Substack… as well as on Locals and Patreon.

Become a subscriber to watch this show (and then enjoy some of the other premium videos, like the just released “Linux Sucks 2022”).

The full video is for paid subscribers

The Lunduke Journal of Technology
The Lunduke Journal of Technology
Authors
Bryan Lunduke